A museum centered on Art + Education + Social Justice through the lens of Africa + the diaspora

SOIL: A Jazz Experience

Soil is a supernatural Jazz experience delivered by celebrated DJ Underdog for MoCADA Radio weaving the many fabrics of Jazz into quilts spanning geography, generations, and the cosmos alike. 


Episode 5

Tenemos tumbao for Episode 5 of SOIL as DJ Underdog dives deep into the percussive complexities of Afro-Latin Jazz for National Hispanic Heritage Month. We’ve got our bases covered whether it’s Afro-Cuban flavor from legend Hilton Ruiz, free-flowing melodies from quintet Irreversible Entanglements, or heavy-hitting soul from South London drummer and composer, Yussef Dayes. Press play to tap into these roots.

1. “El Sabroson” – Poncho Sanchez
2. “Congo Mulence” – Machito & His Afro Cuban Orchestra
3. “La Clave” – Chico Alvarez
4. “Cuando Se Acabará” – Manny Oquendo & Libre
5. “Steppin’ with T.P.” – Hilton Ruiz
6. “Witches Whisper” – Gaslamp Killer
7. “Free Love” – Irreversible Entanglements
8. “Nica’s Dream” – Essence All Stars
9. “Tioga Pass” – Yussef Dayes
10. “Summertime Guajira” – Ray Barretto
11. “Dhuaan” – El Michels Affair
12. “Colder in June” – Cari
13. “Skin Closure” – Contour

For more downloads and gems by Underdog, visit DJ Underdog’s Soundcloud page, HERE.


Episode 4

The fourth installment of Soil features Kelela, Ultra Nate, Bobby Hutcherson, and more, who take us on a euphoric, intergalactic journey through sound. Soothe and moisturize your mind with this eclectic mix.

Track Listing ◢◣ (not in order)

1. “People Make The World Go Round” – Bobby Hutcherson
2. “Would You” – Kehina (ft. Amil)
3. “Locked” – Fourtet
4. “Flylo Tweet” – Yazmin Lacey
5. “Sais Egypt” – Lonnie Liston Smith
6. “Willingness” – Bei Bei, Shawn Lee, Georgia Ann Muldrow
7. “Full Circles” – Low Leaf & Queen Leaf
8. “A Thousand Hands” – Organic Pulse Ensemble
9. “Tidal Wave” – Ronnie Laws
10. “Twisted” – Ultra Nate
11. “Far Away” – Kelela
12. “Pretty Polly” – Teebs
13. “All Neon Like” – Bjork
14. “That’s The Way Life Goes” – Nia Archives
15. “Sunshine Day” – Osibisa


Episode 3
This third installment of Soil has all the sonic soul you need. Just press play and vibe out to the sweet and melodic tones of Sun Ra Arkestra, Kamasi Washington, SPAZA, and other jazz greats.


Track Listing ◢◣ (not in order)

1. Flor (ft. Arthur Verocai) – “Sapiens”
2. George Riley – “Power”
3. Mulatu Astatke – “Kulunmanqueleshi”
4. Sun Ra Arkestra – “I am Sun Ra (Swindle Edit)”
5. Seu Jorge & Maria Rita – “Vento De Maio”
6. Kamasi Washington – “Sun Kissed Child”
7. Mali Hayes – “Forgive You”
8. SPAZA – “Sizwile”
9. Mndsgn – “Medium Rare”
10. Kiefer (ft. Theo Croker) – “Everybody Loves the Sunshine”
11. Hidden by Horizons – “Lone”


Episode 2
Cool, silky, and smooth is what the second installment of Soil is giving. Join us as we slip into the spellbinding sounds of Theo Croker, Jaubi, EABS and other Jazz innovators. We offer you safe passage into the serene.


Track Listing ◢◣ (not in order)

1. Forgive You” – Mali Hayes, Medikul, Cult Architect
2. “Sun Kissed Child” – Kamasi Washington
3. “Secret” – Jerome Thomas
4. “Power” – George Riley
5. “Discipline 27” – EABS
6. “Unknown” – Unknown
7. “Medium Rare” – Mndsgn
8. “Everybody Loves the Sunshine” – Kiefer (ft. Theo Croker)
9. “Insia” – Jaubi (ft. Latarnik & Tenderlonious)
10.”Unknown” – Unknown


Episode 1
Get grounded with the first installment of the new monthly series, Soil, a euphoric exploration through Jazz by Afrofuturist, DJ Underdog. Be still, tune in, stay a while…


Track Listing ◢◣ (not in order)
1. “Such Is Life” – Joel Ross
2. “Reprise” – Fertile Ground
3. “Amor En Pas” – Dorothy Ashby
4. “I Had a Dream” – Chris Potter
5. “Foam and Sand” – Circle 6  feat. Dreaming Of Ghosts
6. “Blueberry Beads (Live at The Blue Whale)” – John Carrol Kirby
7. “Quiet Storm” · Azymuth, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, and Adrian Younge
8. “Reaching The Highest Pleasure” – Roy Ayers
9. “Spiritual Ideation” –  Gary Bartz, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, and Adrian Younge
10. “Essence Of Sapphire” – Dorothy Ashby
11. “False Choice” – Josh Johnson
12. “Sekou” – Brother Ah
13. “Butterflies” – Little Dragon
14. “Juno” – Harold Budd
15. “Together Is a Beautiful Place To Be (Official Audio)” – Nubya Garcia
16. “Return to Forever” – Chick Corea
17. “Garden of Expression” – Joe Lovano, Marilyn Crispell, and Carmen Castaldi